The Mythological Nature of Life Purpose

When I asked my soul to take me deeper into life and love, it did.  Not that long ago, I was a spiritual infant.  I wanted to be wise. There were certain beliefs that I had, and I believed they were good for me. They were good at the time, but shortly after, certain beliefs and I began to separate. Those beliefs were embedded into my body, soul and spirit so deeply they evolved into personal myths. I needed a crow bar to dig them out of my system. The universe obliged me.  Here’s what happened in the space of three years:

  • I lost both parents, one to misdiagnosed skin cancer and the other to a massive stroke
  • My eleven year relationship with my partner and his daughter disintegrated
  • The estrangement of my relationship with my sister and her family
  • I lost the business I had formed with my partner
  • The estrangement of a good friend who was also a business partner
  • I lost my income
  • I was on the brink of losing my house
  • I almost lost my physical, emotional, and mental ability to care for my three children
  • Friends made themselves scarce, especially those who knew me to be always strong

The harshness of life tends to adjust any out-of-date perspectives we have about other people, places and things. Before these events, I was living on the surface of my spiritual life, skimming across it in a mostly self-centered manner, in my rose coloured glasses. The financial difficulties, relationship breakdowns, and family traumas served to shatter my illusions so that I could love more fully and live a deeper and more meaningful life. They gave me exactly what I asked for, but not in a manner I would have planned.

When a belief is maintained by enough people for long enough, it becomes a visible reality, it is disproven, or it grows and evolves into a myth. There are a number of myths that many spiritual aspirants seem to embrace when they decide to find their life purpose. Here are three that appear to be common:

Myth #1: We have only one life purpose.

Myth #2: We are not fulfilling our purpose unless we work in a service, healing or spiritual profession.

Myth #3: Our life purpose should financially support us, and our family, and our dreams.

None of these myths have a hold on me now. During difficult times, I often use meditation, affirmations and visualisations to support me through the changes. I have learned that my affirmations, dreams, mantras, desires, prayers, hopes and wishes give me major insights into my life purpose and what I am here to achieve. This is what happened next.

When I uttered mantras for things that would benefit everyone, such as enlightenment, inspiration and trust that is exactly what I got. I had so many hopes, wishes and desires I had to write them all down. I began to realise that my life purpose was not singular. My life purpose was plural. It was a real ah-ha moment. So I made the decision to become a plural because I realised I could choose to be something different in every moment. For me, being a “present moment plural” is a one way street to freedom.

Now, I can be enlightening in one moment. I can be inspiring in the next. In another moment, I can be trustworthy. I can be anything thing I want, any time I want and anywhere I want,  if that is what I’ve wished or prayed for. It appears that the only limit to making a wish or fulfilling a desire for life purpose is that it serves or benefits everyone.

Another delightful realisation for me was that my life purpose is portable. It is not confined to a job, because my work is just one area of my life. It is not my entire life. A fulfilling life purpose often has very little to do with finding it within the confines of a job, regardless of how noble, or service and healing focused that job may be. While some people combine their life purpose with their job, and they earn a living from this perfect scenario too, it may not serve every person’s unique destiny.  One question I found worth exploring, especially at times when the perfect life purpose scenario has not been apparent life is this:

If we want to make a living out of our life purpose, does one need to be prepared to sell their body, soul or spirit to do it? For me, financial fulfilment plus job satisfaction does not equal my life purpose. That’s the role of a rewarding career or an ideal job. My life purpose is fuelled by my body, soul and spirit. It is not the responsibility of my life purpose to pay my bills.  I can do that by earning a living.

Once I realised that my life purpose was not my job, and that I was unlikely to be paid to fulfil my life purpose, it was liberating. I had relieved the burden of responsibility I had placed on my life purpose to perform according to my expectations. And my expectations were illusions. I was exhilarated, but at the same time, it provoked a few more questions that reminded me of my old self-centred ways. They were:

  • Will I still be enthusiastic and passionate about fulfilling my life purpose when I realise there is little or no money in it?
  • Will I continue to be just as inspiring and empowering when there is absolutely nothing in it for me?

It’s very easy to be passionate about my life and my purpose when things are going well, and the sun is shining, the bills are paid, and the kids are well behaved. The real test is when my life gets hard. My answers came to me.

It is the deeper purpose of life to be what I have chosen to be in the toughest, and not the easiest circumstances.

We have so much power and free will that we are yet to realise. Finding purpose in life is not a complicated science. It’s easy to apply. The purpose of life is ‘to be’. I can be anything I want in any area, and even every area of my life. I can be inspiring at home, trustworthy in my relationships and enlightening at work. These realisations arrived in my life as a result of being pushed to my physical, emotional and mental limits. But they strengthened my spirit, and I am grateful to be so much wiser now. We can be anything we want to be anywhere we like. We are multi-dimensional. That is the nature of our life purpose.

About gailgoodwin

As an author, trainer and mentor, my purpose is to inspire vision, creativity and productivity in the business of life and the life of your business.
This entry was posted in bodysoulspirit, My Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

